About Us

The research platform PLENTY emerged from the Environmental Sciences Research Network (ESRN): The ESRN steering committee members Gerhard Herndl (Faculty of Life Sciences), Thilo Hofmann (Faculty of Earth Sciences, Geography and Astronomy) and Ulrike Felt (Faculty of Social Sciences) developed the idea to explore the topic of plastics together in the course of the network's activities. PLENTY has been set up for three years (starting in May 2018) by the Rectorate of the University of Vienna.

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Gerhard Herndl

Principal Investigator

Department of Limnology and Bio-Oceanography

Faculty of Life Sciences

University of Vienna

Mail: gerhard.herndl@univie.ac.at

Phone: +43-1-4277-76431

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Thilo Hofmann

Principal Investigator

Department of Environmental Geosciences

Centre for Microbiology and Environmental Systems Science

University of Vienna

Mail: thilo.hofmann@univie.ac.at

Phone: +43-1-4277-53320

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Ulrike Felt

Principal Investigator

Department of Science and Technology Studies

Faculty of Sociology

University of Vienna

Mail: ulrike.felt@univie.ac.at

Phone: +43-1-4277-49611

Univ.-Prof. Dipl. Psych. Sabine Pahl

Principal Investigator

Department of Cognition, Emotion, and Methods in Psychology

Faculty of Psychology

University of Vienna

Mail: sabine.pahl@univie.ac.at

Phone: +43-1-4277-47150

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Bernadett Weinzierl

Principal Investigator

Department of Aerosol Physics and Environmental Physics

Faculty of Physics

University of Vienna

Mail: bernadett.weinzierl@univie.ac.at

Phone: +43-1-4277-73412

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Andreas Stohl

Principal Investigator

Department of Meterology and Geophysics

Faculty of Earth Science, Geography and Astronomy

University of Vienna

Mail: andreas.stohl@univie.ac.at

Phone: +43-1-4277-53730

Other participating researchers

 

Artemis Papadaki Anastasopoulou

Department of Science and Technology Studies

University of Vienna

Mail: artemis.papadaki@univie.ac.at

Laura Bomm

Department of Science and Technology Studies

University of Vienna

Mail: laura.bomm@univie.ac.at

Dr. Maximilian Fochler

Department of Science and Technology Studies

University of Vienna

Mail: maximilian.fochler@univie.ac.at

Charlotte Henkel

Department of Environmental Geosciences

University of Vienna

Mail: charlotte.henkel@univie.ac.at

 

 

 

Dr. Thorsten Hüffer

Department of Environmental Geosciences

University of Vienna

Mail: thorsten.hueffer@univie.ac.at

Ruoting Peng

Department for Environmental Geosciences

University of Vienna

Mail: ruoting.peng@univie.ac.at

Mili Shah

Department of Functional and Evolutionary Ecology

University of Vienna

Mail: mili.shah@univie.ac.at

Dr. Michael Zumstein

Department of Environmental Geoscience

University of Vienna

Mail: michael.zumstein@univie.ac.at

Former researchers

Dr. Maria Pinto

previously Department of Functional and Evolutionary Ecology